Paul Kimbrough

Nick Name: Polly Wog, Polly Pocket, Freight Train, Weezie, PK, Kimby

Gender: Male

Date of Birth: Jan 30, 1986

Where were you born: Salt Lake City

Current Location: Victor, ID

Hobbies: Climbing, fishing, backpacking, gardening, biking

Motto: Live everyday like it could be your last

Discipline: What's that? Ha ha, Telemark skiing

My passion for skiing started when my adventurous parents strapped skis to my feet at the age of two and lowered me down the neighborhood sledding slope. I grew up in nature's playground; spending winters in Utah and summers in Grand Teton National Park: skiing, fly fishing, kayaking, climbing, and backpacking. My love of the outdoors lead me to study Environmental Education at Western Washington University where I shaped my life around telemark skiing.

Continuing a seasonal lifestyle, I finished my degree going to school in the summer and taking winters off to surf the coveted Cascade Concrete of nearby Mt. Baker. From washing dishes at The Alta Lodge to taking tourists sea kayaking in the San Juan Islands, I'm willing to do just about anything to support my habit. Jake Sakson and I will be running the second annual Beartooth Basin Big Mtn. Telemark Camp this June to share our experience and love for the sport with the next generation of freeheel rippers. I will also be working as a whitewater raft guide and bartender through the summer so I can continue to spend my winters playing in the snow.

Favorite SCARPA product: T-Race

What other SCARPA product do you use: I'm a big fan of SCARPA climbing shoes and approach shoes,; the Instinct S is my favorite sport climbing shoe for steep technical routes.

Your biggest influence growing up: Probably my parents, they raised me with a passion for experiencing and learning from the mountains, rivers, and deserts.

Biggest idol in your sport growing up: I didn't grow up telemark skiing, so I would have to say Eric Pollard was my most prominent ski influence.

What age did you start skiing: I started skiing at the age of two, and switched to freeheel skiing at 19.

How would you describe your style: Smooth

What can't you live without: Water and love

What keeps you motivated: I'm most motivated by the energy of youth in the sport. The young kids entering into telemark are so enthusiastic and excited to learn and have fun; they really motivate me to keep trying new things and to continue pushing myself.

If you could be a super hero who: Spider-Man of course. He can climb anything, shoot webs and swing around. What's cooler than that?

Guilty pleasure song: Row Row Row Your Boat

Strangest medical issue: Asthma or Migraine headaches

Favorite junk food: Chips

Favorite post activity drink: Coconut water

Best excuse to skip training: What's training?

Go-to dance move: The Wave

Favorite ice cream: Coconut gelato

Coffee or tea: Coffee

What do you do on off days: Work, climb, garden, play with my dog Hank

Last movie to make you cry: Guys don't cry

Favorite classic movie: Pulp Fiction

What's on your ipod: My ipod is broken, but lots of Reggae, Bluegrass, Hip Hop, and Classic Rock

Hidden talent/party trick: Shooting pennies or bottle caps at light speed and with precision accuracy

What kind of car do you drive: 1998 Subaru Forester with over 220,000mi, when it's running

Personal Blog: Beans & Rice Freeride

Instagram: telepaulk